Menu Close

Grootebeek British Cemetery

Information from the website of the Commonwealth War Graves Commission:
Grootebeek British Cemetery is located 8 km west of Ieper town centre on the Bellestraat, a road leading from the N308 connecting Ieper to Poperinge via Vlamertinge.
The village of Reninghelst was in Allied hands from the autumn of 1914 to the end of the First World War. From March 1915, Commonwealth burials were made in the Churchyard, the Churchyard Extension and the New Military Cemetery, but in April 1918, during the Battles of the Lys, a new cemetery was made by field ambulances and fighting units near the hamlet of Ouderdom, on the Poperinghe-Wytschaete road. It was originally called OUDERDOM MILITARY CEMETERY, but later renamed Grootebeek British Cemetery, from the stream (Grootebeek, or Groote Kemmelbeek) which runs beside it. It was used at intervals until the end of September 1918 and it absorbed a small Indian cemetery made on the spot in April 1915. The cemetery contains 109 Commonwealth burials and commemorations of the First World War. One grave destroyed by shell fire is now represented by a special memorial, and another special memorial records the name of Pte J. Lynn, VC, who was buried in Vlamertinghe Churchyard but whose grave was similarly destroyed. The two Second World War burials date from May 1940 and the withdrawal of the British Expeditionary Force ahead of the German advance. The cemetery was designed by W.H. Cowlishaw.

The men

Ali Haidar
Robert Anderson
Allan Hunt Barclay
Horace John Barnett
T. Bickerdyke
C. Bohan
Archiebald Brabner
F.W.A. Brown
J.J. Carter
Charles Albert Chillingsworth
T. Choules
F.G. Church
W.H. Clunie
E. Collyer
R.J. Cooper
R.G. Coull
F. Cracknell
James Cruickshank
Thoms Alexander Cutt
P. Dagless

Joseph John Daly
Reginald Daniells
Alfred Davies
A. (Dick) Denyer
A. Dunn
A. Durrant
Charles Harold Eady
J. Elder
F. Farr
John Faulding
Martin Flaherty
T.C. Forrest
W. Grady
John Clifford Green
Francis Joseph Gregory
Thomas Cyril Guest

John Charles Victor Harder
Ernest James Hemsley
W. Hulme
A.E. Jackson
John Kaye
Walter Robert Kyme
Herbert Lingwood
John William Linley
R.C. Litchfield
E. Long
W. Longbottom
John Lynn
Alfred Wooldridge Medd
James Miles
Jonas Million
Harry Millson
Harry Moore
J.A. Moroney
Robert James Dugald Mowat
Muhammad Elahi
J.B. MacDonald
Daniel McArthur
J. McCartney
J. McGuire
W. McNie
R.J. Northcott
Douglas Quirk O’Neill
Claud Cecil Orrett
Arthur Pattison
H. Pawley
F. Payne
H. Peace
Sidney Rivers Pearl
Arthur William Peeling

E. Perkins
W. Phillips
G.H. Phillips
T.J. Pollard
A.S. Porter
A.B. Pratt
David Pratt
H.W. Price
A.R. Rivett
W.C. Rovertson
E. Rogers
A.S. Rowe
Sardar Khan
Sharif Khan
J. Sidebottom
Percy Leonard Simmons
George Alexander Simpson
E. Smith
George Alan Campbell Smith
G. Smith
Joseph Leo Smith
Frank Leslie Soanes
Stanley Stephenson
Wilfred Stott
D. Stuart
W. Sword
A. Timms
Archibald Elliot Turnbull
Richard Daniel Turner
Charles Albert Walker
Walter Walker
Harry John Waters
Sydney James Whittle
Henry Arthur Wilkes
William Charles Woods
Hiram Woolhouse

Go Back